Religion or true conversion?

Confusion? Yeah that’s what I’ll call it…
For a while, a long while, as in just got it recently while, I always used to wonder whether its my job or a mysterious magic spell that I would change my life and be more like Christ. Please don’t stone me, but it was a serious concern for me.

I’d wanna do something good but stop myself cause hey, what if its just me trying to glorify myself. Or when it comes to doing what the flesh wanted I’d do it cause I was expecting some deep spiritual movement in me that would make it impossible for me to do that.

Wow. This bubble was interesting. Imagine how freeing it was to come across Philippians 2:13 “for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure”.
Say what?
I could’ve literally jumped with joy to read that!
Firstly it humbled me, cause there is nothing good that I can do. Well that took away a feeling of pride that I could’ve possibly wanted to do something good on my own. Secondly it made me want and look forward to doing good things because that is the work of God in me! Woop woop!!

But before I jump all fences in excitement, it made me see how foolish I was to somehow completely ignore the number of verses that point to a challenge it will be to pursue holiness… die daily… be steadfast and immovable… be watchful, stand firm in the faith… those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires….

Those are just some phrases I’m wondering how I used to not get before. Mind boggling.

By His grace He has opened my eyes… I feel free or rather braver now because I know that we are made to glorify God in all that we do.
It now makes sense to repent of what I thought were “small” things before.
It makes sense to fear too much praise from people, lest I start thinking that I have done something remarkable, when I’ve only done what I’ve been told to do.

All glory belongs to God, and all that we do should be a conscious effort to point people back to the cross. The mercy, love, compassion that flowed from that is something that leaves one in awe and should always be a marvel…

That will certainly be encouragement to die daily, to crucify my passions and desires and not be waiting, while indulging in the desires of the flesh waiting for some mysterious force to paralyze and control me like a robot. The desires I have to do good are from God and my responsibility is to make sure that I submit to the Lord and do what He says.

I pray that God may convict us when our intentions are wrong and help us daily in our lives to glorify Him in all that we do.

The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen
😀

Leave a Reply

