Crushing the Trust

Image

Ow the joys of being in love! Seeing him smile, the way he carries himself in godliness, his leadership that seems to come so naturally, how he just handles scripture… One problem, he is not yours.

The crush! If you haven’t gone through it, please teach me your ways! Being a single seems to be somewhat of a hot topic, like people don’t know what to do with themselves while their single. It just makes it worse when there is a mature godly somebody wondering around in your midsts, like, where to from here?

Well, if you were hoping to find a list of what to do to get over a crush or something like that, I’m sorry, no such thing here, BUT, I think I may just have something that should get us all thinking about what we treasure in our hearts.

Before I end up sounding like I’m a miss perfect let me share a bit of my crush story so you know where all this comes from. There was a certain somebody, *cough*, let’s call him Jay, and Jay is a godly guy, uses his mind, strength, body etc for the glory of God, he’s just that soul’d out guy for the Lord and he’s easy on the eye too. So, single me noticed single Jay and well, it was late for me. My mind became a cinema of endless romantic movies starring Jay and I. One movie we were missionaries out in the most undeveloped parts of the world, another I was perfect homemaker and mother and he was perfect father and worked hard to provide for the family, always the perfect reflection of how Christ loved the church. It all seems pretty cute huh? The problem is it had now become the thing that I loved to dwell on all day. It seemed like everything I did was no longer to please God but inwardly it was to get Jay to notice me and my oh so godly ways.

A God-given and beautiful desire, I had now to turned into an idol, I’d totally win the depravity award huh? Yeah, so that brought me to a place where I had to question what is my heart’s true desire. When I do something, am I doing it to get his attention, or am I truly doing it as an act of obedience to God. It is hard to sit down and truly question your intentions when you have a crush, because it becomes as easy as breathing to justify yourself somehow in doing whatever you are doing.
A neat example, you’re invited to a church event, and you were not planning to go because you have another plan, then you hear that your crush is going. Suddenly the other plan is no longer so important, and church events are always good in growing in the Lord, see where this is going?

“Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life”

 [Proverbs 4:23]

When we lose our sense of self-control and allow our emotions to take over, when we allow ourselves to put ANYTHING above God, we are leading ourselves straight to death. Being single we should never allow our emotions to crush our trust in God. He is, or at least should be the number one factor in our lives. Jesus taught us practically to always do the will of God even when it hurts most, this is a bit extreme though but it clearly shows how we should put ourselves in the background and trust God fully in everything, asking for His will to be done and not ours.

“…he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, My father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will”

[Matthew 26:39]

And that’s how it should be. Let’s not get so taken up by our desires that we put them above God, there is NOTHING wrong with desiring marriage and all that good stuff, but it shouldn’t be our idol. Let us be holy as He is holy, living our lives for His glory, we’re single, that’s all, we have all the gifts and abilities that God has given us to glorify Him NOW.

“The Lord is my strength and my shield;
in him my heart trusts, and I am helped;
my heart exults,
and with my song I give thanks to him”

[Psalm 28:7]

Leave a Reply

