Graceless Christ?

BeFunky_IMG_20140925_124432.jpg

I hear a lot of people say we portray Christ to the people we interact with in our lives.

I ask the LORD for people to read scripture and know Him so that I may be proven right in what I’ve said.

“You ask and do not receive because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions”

James 4:1-3

I fight and fight with a person about scripture, raising my voice, getting angry and condemning the person as if I don’t do what they do as well. I get self righteous in the heat of those moments, it stops being about Christ and the grace that we’ve been shown to being about me and how I can win the battle. I leave these arguments feeling some kind of way. On the one hand I try and convince myself that I am humbe and praying for this person to come to know the LORD and read scripture right, on the other hand I’m like you fool, you shouted and threw your long arms all over the show to win a battle and you hardened a heart – well done! Aargh.

The joys of being a young Christian. We do foolish things, we’re zealous for sure, but yo the things that escape this small opening called the mouth are things only Christ can save us from.

I had the wonderful opportunity to watch my gran teach scripture during “Thabelo” (Venda for prayer), she handled tough verses with such kindness & grace, I knew I would be a fool to not take that as a lesson and gentle rebuke.

“A gentle tongue is a tree of life,
    but perverseness in it breaks the spirit.”

-Proverbs 15:4

I always used to think old people are … well… old, and that to me meant boring and outdated, and they prove it so well with their inability to answer cell phone calls or write an sms. As usual though, my gran proves to me over and over again how wonderful the LORD is. She may not be the most technologically advanced, or know any of the latest happenings in the world, but she sure has wisdom, and how much more beautiful when it’s godly wisdom.

“Wisdom is with the aged, and understanding in length of days.”

-Job 12:12

She never stopped doing Thabelo even when we’d laugh as kids, or when my aunts or mom fell asleep during Thabelo. She’s been doing this for years, and only now I’m starting to appreciate it all.  Her gentleness which I used to take as weakness, has proven to be just another one of the fruits of the spirit that she possesses.

“They still bear fruit in old age; they are ever full of sap and green”

– Psalm 92:14-15

I can only pray that the LORD would keep me to such an old age, to perservere to the end. To show grace and mercy where needed, and not push my own agendas to glorify myself. As we’ve been shown grace, may we also walk like our Saviour walked, showing grace, kindness, humility, gentleness and love everytime the opportunity arises…

Glory be to our LORD and Saviour forever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

