Raped by a Neighbour

image

I will be posting two other stories in the next couple of days. Please note that some of these stories are sensitive in nature. These are real stories that happened to real people and these are their stories…

In a country where we are taught that a child is raised by the community, what happens when the trust is broken? We are told to respect our elders, but what happens when those elders take advantage? Read this short story to experience trust broken by a neighbour…

It was a summer day and I was sitting outside my friend’s place alone as her mother had called her in to do something. While sitting there, her next door neighbour called me to come over to his house.  I jumped the fence and went over. He gave me food, spaghetti, I ate it and finished it. He then called me over to his bedroom and raped me and told me not to tell anyone, which I did not. I was about 8 years old when that happened and for a very long time in my life I had blocked that part of my life out. To be honest a part of me has still not dealt with it. It’s a wound that never heals but I guess as time goes by you learn to live with it….
-Anonymous

Leave a Reply

